A year ago I was buying a domain name for my newly formed Skrinshot LTD. It did not come as a big surprise that skrinshot.com was already taken. So I had no choice, but to register under .co.uk (which wasn’t that bad, since business was registered and operating in UK).
Ac couple of weeks ago I received an email from itdomainnames.net, basically saying ’skrinshot.com is coming available for sale in a few days. If you have interest in acquiring it, please fill up priority notice, and we will contact you when the domain is available.’ Right, that is interesting! So I followed the link in the email.
The first paragraph was saying ‘SKRINSHOT.COM will be listed for sale in the next 24 hours. This domain has been flagged as a premium domain and we expect it to sell quickly. Since you received a priority notice from us, you will be given first chance to acquire this domain.’
Nice, that feels like VIP treatment, and I like it. But also seems too good to be true. A premium domain? I doubt it.
Anyway, I started filling the form and came down to the ‘Your offer’ field. Hmm, my offer… What’s my offer?… OK, 20 bucks. But got an error message - ‘The minimum offer is $97′. Oh, screw you then! I don’t really need it that much (even skrinshot.co.uk is still just a holding page so far). Oh well then, I thought, I’ll stick to .co.uk.
They kept sending me reminder emails, hoping I was going to change my mind, but I was firm. Then a couple of days ago I received an email from another domain name seller, traderdomains.com, and this time ‘it is available for a one-time fee of only $49 USD’ as they ‘were able to secure it’.
Well, that’s definitely a good news! Looks like I saved myself $48, just by waiting a little bit and ignoring the initial price offer. Just like a good haggler. And this time it looked like a fair price to me, which I would be quite happy to pay.
But wait a second! I thought itdomainnames.net had already had that name at their disposal, so how have traderdomains.com managed to ’secure it’? Well that looked suspicious to me. Looked like scam.
And scam it was. I went to the first ‘cheap domains’ website, checked that skrinshot.com was available and bought it for just around $10. And that’s the end of story :) Done. Never just trust emails/internet, check first.
I will be transferring my one page ‘website’ to it’s new address in the next few days. I will also be happily ditching skrinshot.net and skrinshot.info I have bought a year ago and don’t need anymore, since I’ve got .com, the coolest one. Nice.